School Advisory Council

School Advisory Council


 2018-19 Council Members

Chairperson - TBA

Principal - Ann Findlay


    Staff Representatives

Eliza Abbass

Rebecca Fraser

Parent Representatives

Samantha Cameron

We currently have parent rep vacancies. 

If you would like to become involved please contact the school's Administration Office. 

Student Representatives

Mason Darroch

Jaclyn Fitzpatrick

Dylan Niles

Janelle Young

  Community Representative

African Nova Scotian - Tamika Borden

First Nation - Charlotte Brooks

 Cst. Ken MacDonald (School Resource Office)


The purpose of a School Advisory Council (SAC) is to act as an advisory body to the school principal and to the Chignecto-Central Regional Centre for Education on a wide range of issues, including policies, curriculum and programs, school practices, student-support services, fund-raising, parent-school communication and school improvement. Most importantly, an SAC participates in the ongoing efforts of the school to continuously improve student achievement and school performance.

School advisory councils are volunteer organizations that were established by the Nova Scotia Education Act, and are made up of parents, community members, the school principal, teachers and school support staff. Each school within the CCRCE has a School Advisory Council. To learn more about the SAC at a school in your area contact the school principal.

SAC Guiding Principles

  • Education is a shared responsibility.
  • Students must be the first consideration for all decisions.
  • People at the local school level have important perspectives to advise on and contribute to decisions that will meet the needs of all students.
  • Increasing the quality of education means the continuous improvement of schools.
  • Change must take into account the unique characteristics of each community.
  • Partners need to use teamwork skills and strategies to effectively manage change.
  • Involving the community in school improvement will enhance the learning for all students.